Photograph by Bob Brink
St. Patrick's Hall Schools Memorial Wall
by Jim Maunder
Bonaventure and Merrymeeting Road, St. John's
Bonaventure and Merrymeeting Rd., St. John's, NL A1C 2E8
The Benevolent Irish Society opened its first school on Queen’s Road in 1880. In 1945, the school relocated to the Christian Brothers’ monastery property at Bonaventure Avenue and Merrymeeting Road. The school was closed in 1999 and the building burned down in 2003.
The St. Patrick’s Hall Schools alumni commissioned St. John’s-born sculptor and art educator Jim Maunder to create a memorial wall for the school. Maunder’s bronze bas-relief depicts the vibrant academic, social, cultural and athletic training that the students received at St. Pat’s. The memorial is located at the corner on Bonaventure Avenue and Merrymeeting Road, where thousands of children entered St. Pat’s Hall grounds.
Jim Maunder was born in St. John’s, NL. A graduate of the Ontario College of Art, he has been making sculptures, drawings and paintings for over 30 years, including several large public sculptures in St. John’s and Port au Choix, NL. His work has shown in St. John’s, Halifax, Toronto, St. Catharines, Hamilton, New York and Tokyo, and is held in private collections in Canada and the U.S., as well as the collections of the governments of St. John’s, of Newfoundland and Labrador, and of Canada. His themes include an exploration of the complexities of the interaction between humans and the natural environment. Maunder currently lives in St. Catharines, Ontario and spends part of his year in St. John’s. He is represented by the Christina Parker Gallery in St. John’s and TAG Gallery in St. Catharines. His website is www.jimmaunder.ca